Safe Beauty Products

Safety_testing_banner_desktop

OLAY’S SAFETY STANDARDS

JUST LIKE YOU, OLAY TAKES SAFETY SERIOUSLY.

For more than 65 years, we’ve been on the cutting edge of both beauty and science. We continuously innovate to uphold ingredients, formulas and products to a high standard. We are transparent about our process and ingredients which is why we’ve created this page. Here, you’ll find information on our ingredients, our current safety standards, and how we make sure our products are safe before we even think about sending them to market.

STEP 1
A HEALTHY DOSE OF SKEPTICISM

Doubt_Icon

LET’S BE CLEAR: THE FIRST AND MOST
IMPORTANT QUESTION WE ASK OURSELVES IS ALWAYS IS
THIS NEW INGREDIENT SAFE?

Before any ingredient goes into our skincare, we gather the relevant safety and toxicity information on that ingredient. That means having our scientists dive deep into the current research and perform rigorous testing in our state-of-the-art P&G laboratories.

STEP 2
DUE DILIGENCE

Dilligence_Icon

AFTER WE DETERMINE THAT THE NEW INGREDIENT IS SAFE FOR YOUR SKIN, THE NEXT QUESTION WE ASK IS, "WHAT IS THE SAFE RANGE FOR THE INGREDIENT?" THE SAFE RANGE DEFINES HOW MUCH OF THIS INGREDIENT IS SAFE TO USE NOT JUST TODAY, BUT THROUGHOUT YOUR LIFE.

We work to determine a Safe Range for each and every ingredient based on a similar process many regulatory agencies and scientific groups use to ensure safety. Globally, we follow the guidelines of groups like the European Union Commission, the World Heath Organization and the National Academy of Sciences.

We are invested not just in your skin today, but also your skin’s future.

STEP 3
CRAFTING THE FORMULA

Formula_Icon

OF COURSE, NONE OF OUR INGREDIENTS STAND ALONE. WHILE WE MIGHT DETERMINE THAT AN INGREDIENT IS SAFE ALONE, WE ALSO EVALUATE THE SAFETY OF OUR PRODUCTS WHEN WE COMBINE THEM WITH OTHER INGREDIENTS IN OUR FORMULAS.

If we can't guarantee a product formula is safe, this formula does not leave the lab. We will either reformulate or we’ll scrap the product all together and go back to the drawing board.

FUN FACT: We have more than 500 scientists and professionals at Olay who make sure our products meet safety and regulatory requirements around the world.

STEP 4
CHECKING UP AND CHECKING IN

Check_Up_Icon

Once our new Olay product is out in the wild, we continuously monitor your comments about that product in social media and through our customer service team. At Olay, we believe you and your skin deserve the best beauty and science have to offer, which means we will never take our eye off the prize: giving you great skin!

Safety

Safety_testing_banner_desktop

NORMES DE SÉCURITÉ OLAY

TOUT COMME VOUS, OLAY PREND LA SÉCURITÉ AU SÉRIEUX.

Depuis plus de 65 ans, nous sommes à la fine pointe de la beauté et de la science. Nous innovons continuellement pour imposer le respect des normes les plus strictes en matière d’ingrédients, de formules et de produits. Nous faisons preuve de transparence en ce qui concerne nos processus et nos ingrédients. C’est pourquoi nous avons créé cette page. Ici, vous trouverez de l’information au sujet de nos ingrédients, de nos normes de sécurité en vigueur et de la façon dont nous nous assurons que nos produits sont sécuritaires avant même de songer à les mettre sur le marché.

ÉTAPE 1
UNE SAINE DOSE DE SCEPTICISME

Doubt_Icon

SOYONS CLAIRS : LA PREMIÈRE ET LA PLUS
IMPORTANTE QUESTION QUE NOUS NOUS POSONS TOUJOURS CONSISTE À SAVOIR SI LE
NOUVEL INGRÉDIENT EST SÉCURITAIRE.

Avant d’ajouter un ingrédient à nos produits de soin de la peau, nous rassemblons l’information pertinente concernant l’innocuité et la toxicité de cet ingrédient. Ainsi, nos scientifiques doivent étudier soigneusement les plus récentes recherches et effectuer des tests rigoureux dans nos laboratoires P&G de pointe.

ÉTAPE 2
DILIGENCE RAISONNABLE

Dilligence_Icon

QUAND NOUS AVONS DÉTERMINÉ QU’UN NOUVEL INGRÉDIENT EST SÉCURITAIRE POUR LA PEAU, NOUS NOUS POSONS ENSUITE CETTE QUESTION : « QUEL EST LE NIVEAU SÉCURITAIRE POUR L’INGRÉDIENT? ». LE NIVEAU SÉCURITAIRE DÉFINIT LA QUANTITÉ À LAQUELLE CET INGRÉDIENT PEUT ÊTRE UTILISÉ EN TOUTE SÉCURITÉ, NON SEULEMENT AUJOURD’HUI, MAIS TOUT AU LONG DE VOTRE VIE.

Nous déterminons le niveau recommandé pour chaque ingrédient en nous basant sur un processus semblable à celui qu’utilisent de nombreux organismes de réglementation et groupes scientifiques pour garantir la sécurité. À l’échelle internationale, nous suivons les directives de groupes comme la Commission européenne, l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé et la National Academy of Sciences.

Nous avons pris un engagement envers votre peau, présente et future.

ÉTAPE 3
CONCOCTER LA FORMULE

Formula_Icon

BIEN ENTENDU, AUCUN DE NOS INGRÉDIENTS N’AGIT SEUL. BIEN QUE NOUS PUISSIONS DÉTERMINER L’INNOCUITÉ D’UN INGRÉDIENT SEUL, NOUS ÉVALUONS ÉGALEMENT L’INNOCUITÉ DE NOS PRODUITS QUAND NOUS LES COMBINONS AVEC D’AUTRES INGRÉDIENTS DANS NOS FORMULES.

Si nous ne pouvons pas garantir qu’une formule de produit est sécuritaire, cette formule ne quitte pas le laboratoire. Soit nous changeons la formule, soit nous mettons le produit de côté entièrement pour recommencer du début.

FAIT AMUSANT : Plus de 500 scientifiques et professionnels œuvrent auprès de Olay pour veiller à ce que nos produits respectent les exigences du point de vue de la sécurité et les exigences réglementaires partout dans le monde.

ÉTAPE 4
SUIVIS ET VÉRIFICATIONS

Check_Up_Icon

Quand notre nouveau produit Olay est mis sur le marché, nous surveillons continuellement vos commentaires à propos de ce dernier dans les médias sociaux et par le biais de notre équipe du service à la clientèle. Chez Olay, nous croyons que votre peau et vous méritez ce que la beauté et la science ont de meilleur à offrir, ce qui signifie que nous ne perdons jamais de vue notre objectif : vous donner une belle peau!