Skip to main content

Complete Complexion Skincare in Your 40s

Who says you have to look your age? With incredible scientific advances in skincare, women in their 40s can easily look as young and vibrant as they did in their younger years. Lets take a look at some common skincare concerns and how to get your best beautiful skin no drastic procedures required.

Dry Skin

As we age, estrogen and progesterone production slow down and your skin cells produce less sebum (or oil); essential to keeping skin looking and feeling soft and supple. Your surface skin cell renewal process also slows down a bit, resulting in a duller, less radiant complexion.

Signs of Aging

Aging is a fact of life. Loss of firmness, larger pores, hyperpigmentation, wrinkles, and dullness may become more visible on your skin.

4 Ways to Take Care of Your Skin in Your 40s

  1. Cleanse Away Impurities. Select a cleanser that exfoliates the skin’s surface. By exfoliating, you are buffing away dead skin cells and helping to unblock pores.

  2. Moisturizing is Key. Apply a moisturizer with a broad spectrum SPF of at least 15 in the morning.

  3. Up the Ante with A Serum. Take your moisturization or spot treatment to the next level with a serum. Using it twice a day — in the morning before your moisturizer and in the evening — will drench your skin in moisture. Look for hydrating ingredients like glycerin (which draws moisture from the air into your skin) and Niacinimide or N-Acetyl Glucosamine (which exfoliates and helps minimize the appearance of hyperpigmentation).

  4. Nighttime is Your Prime Time. Your skin repairs itself at night which makes nighttime moisturization key. A moisturizer with peptides will help speed up surface skin cell turnover and diminish the appearance of fine lines. Peptides also help boost hydration and brighten your skin’s appearance.


Bright Eyes. Use an eye cream to reduce the appearance of fine lines and minimize the look of hollowing around the eyes. Dab it on with your ring finger, from the inner corner to the outer corner, tapping lightly to give an instant circulation boost to the area.

Getting older is inevitable but older looking skin is not. Keep up with your skincare routine and you will have everyone guessing where you are hiding the fountain of youth.

Sources:
http://www.aad.org/dermatology-a-to-z/health-and-beauty/every-stage-of-life/adult-skin/adult-acne
http://www.aad.org/stories-and-news/news-releases/new-study-evaluates-effectiveness-of-vitamins-for-the-treatment-of-sun-damaged-skin

Was this article helpful?

Skip to main content

Tout pour le teint : Soins de la peau dans la quarantaine

Qui a dit que tu devais regarder ton âge? Grâce aux progrès scientifiques incroyables dans le domaine des soins de la peau, les femmes dans la quarantaine peuvent facilement paraître aussi jeunes et dynamiques qu'elles l'étaient dans leur jeunesse. Jetons un coup d'œil à quelques problèmes de soins de la peau courants et comment obtenir votre meilleure peau magnifique & mdash; aucune procédure drastique requise.

Peau sèche Avec l'âge, la production d'œstrogènes et de progestérone ralentit et les cellules de votre peau produisent moins de sébum (ou d'huile); essentiel pour garder la peau douce et souple. Votre processus de renouvellement cellulaire de la peau de surface ralentit également un peu, ce qui donne un teint plus terne et moins éclatant.

Signes de vieillissement Le vieillissement est une réalité de la vie. Une perte de fermeté, des pores plus larges, une hyperpigmentation, des rides et un teint terne peuvent devenir plus visibles sur votre peau.

4 façons de prendre soin de votre peau dans la quarantaine

  1. Nettoyez les impuretés. Sélectionnez un nettoyant qui exfolie la surface de la peau. En exfoliant, vous éliminez les cellules mortes de la peau et aidez à débloquer les pores.

  2. L'hydratation est la clé. Appliquez une crème hydratante avec un FPS à large spectre d'au moins 15 le matin.

  3. Remontez la barre avec un sérum. Faites passer votre hydratation ou votre traitement localisé à un niveau supérieur avec un sérum. L'utiliser deux fois par jour & mdash; le matin avant votre crème hydratante et le soir & mdash; trempera votre peau d'humidité. Recherchez des ingrédients hydratants comme la glycérine (qui aspire l'humidité de l'air vers votre peau) et le niacinimide ou la N-acétyl glucosamine (qui exfolie et aide à minimiser l'apparence de l'hyperpigmentation).

  4. La nuit est votre prime time. Votre peau se répare la nuit, ce qui rend l'hydratation nocturne essentielle. Une crème hydratante avec des peptides aidera à accélérer le renouvellement cellulaire de la peau de surface et à diminuer l'apparence des ridules. Les peptides aident également à stimuler l'hydratation et à illuminer l'apparence de votre peau.


Yeux pétillants. Utilisez une crème pour les yeux pour réduire l'apparence des ridules et minimiser l'apparence du creux autour des yeux. Tamponnez-le avec votre annulaire, du coin intérieur au coin extérieur, en tapotant légèrement pour donner une stimulation instantanée de la circulation à la zone.

Vieillir est inévitable, mais une peau plus âgée ne l'est pas. Suivez votre routine de soins de la peau et vous aurez tout le monde deviner où vous cachez la fontaine de jouvence.

Avez-vous trouvé cette évaluation utile?